Is it possible to build your practice to have an emphasis on surgery?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SKaminski

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

I am a third year medical student contemplating going into OBGYN. I really enjoy surgery, but have also really enjoyed the C-sections and vaginal deliveries I've been a part of while on my OBGYN rotation. Additionally, the connections you can build with patients is something I enjoy, and something I feel I might miss on surgery.

One thing i'm concerned about is how few procedures we do on my current OBGYN rotation. We have clinic every day from 9-5, and we've done about one C-section and a few vaginal deliveries a week.

Is this typical, or is this a bit on the lower side?

Members don't see this ad.

Not uncommon for large health systems to triage things out. In certain Kaisers or the Mayo Health System, they have specific physicians who can do hysterecomties and major cases, certain who just do labor and delivery, some who just do office/minor cases and procedures.

In a group/private practice setting, and if you have additional training you can get cases internally referred to you by partners but it depends.

Reality is that OB GYN is a clinic heavy specialty and operating 0.5 days to 1 day is generally the norm.

If you want to operate more, would recommend general surgery and the specialties associated with it.

Hmmm. What if you operate as a laborist/OB hospitalist?

Members don't see this ad :)