Is it ethical to date former patient you discharged from the hospital?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

coolcicada

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am an internal med resident and treated a patient in the ICU for 3 days. She recovered well and got discharged. Then I went on to cardiology for my next rotation and one of my colleagues said unfortunately she was readmitted a few days later for another condition but I was not involved for this second admission. She then got discharged again from the hospital. I never seen this patient before outside the ICU and she don't follow up with us for outpatient. A few weeks later, I was looking for housing and the person who helped us in person happens to be this former patient. We got along well and she is interested to develop a relationship, but I am not sure whether it is ethical. She has no psychiatric conditions.

Members don't see this ad.

If anything, I think it would be best to not pursue a relationship until there is a 0% chance you could be involved in that patient’s medical care in the future. I would also want to put quite a bit more time between pursuing that and when you saw her in the hospital.

Reactions: 1 user
Fascinating question! I may use this in interviews. At first glance, I thought it would be OK, but the wise VA Hopeful's comments made me want to investigate this.

Here's what the AMA has to say:

A physician must terminate the patient-physician relationship before initiating a dating, romantic, or sexual relationship with a patient.