Is it a dream or is it over for me?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bfwdesigns

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello Everyone!

I am 34 years and I am in a job that I really can't stand. I have always wanted to have a career in the medical field, but I feel that I have really screwed up! I have my AA degree and went into college right out of high school and did not take my classes seriously. I guess I partied too much! :(

I got some bad grades that I will be retaking and my GPA is low. I know what I need to do, but sometimes I feel that there is no hope for me. I would like to become a nurse or a MD. I have taken biology I and got an A and biology II a B. I took A & P I and got a C+ and A & P II and got an F... what the ?!!!! I don't know what the hell I was doing but obviously it was not studying and I know that I could do so much better... that was over 12 years ago and I am so ready to make a difference. I enrolled in school this summer and I am very excited to be back. I know that I have such a long road ahead of me and school is my ticket out of my current position.

Is it possible for someone like me to make a turn around and actually become a nurse or a doctor, or am I dreaming?

I am taking a refresher A& P class this fall before I retake my A & P II.

Thank you in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

It depends on how "low" your GPA is, and how many credits you already have...if you have 4 years of credits and a low 2 point GPA, you are facing a very steep uphill climb...if your AA degree is only 2 years, then that is helpful...

How low?

Hello,

Thank you for replying. I am very embarrass to say my current GPA is like 2.4.. I know bad. If only I knew what I know now :( and yes it is a 2 year degree. I know I am capable of so much more..

Members don't see this ad :)
Hello Everyone!