Is doing PsyD better than doing a PhD? Which has better job prospectives?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

xoxo111

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I’m new to this particular forum. I’m interested in doing PsyD and I was hoping for some more info. My undergrad gpa is 3.87 and that too with double majors bio and psych. I’ve As in all my psych courses including research design and statistics if that’s relevant. I can’t get into a PhD program because I don’t have much experience in research, except two semesters of independent study, but no publications. Besides, if I make a career in psychology, then I want my experience to extend to caring for patients and perhaps some university teaching. Currently, I’m looking at master’s programs to do in UK because I want to get the clinical hours for PsyD programs. I was wondering if the job perspectives are good for PsyD? I’ve heard various things from it’s not worth it and that a PhD is certainly better, and so I was hoping for some insight.

Members don't see this ad.

Any good/reputable PsyD will require just as much research experience as a PhD. Most PsyDs are not funded either whereas many PhDs come with tuition and a stipend. Also, academia heavily favors PhDs if you're really interested in teaching beyond being an adjunct or something.

I'd say to find a volunteer research position and work on getting that experience for a few years, then apply for PhD programs.

Reactions: 4 users