Is a Clinical Letter of Rec Essential??

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bigeman101

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Here's the situation:

I worked as a CNA for a year and recently quit because the management was terrible and they all got fired. I was going to get a letter of rec from my boss there but that's not possible now. Now I have two choices: I can go to work another CNA job and get a letter of rec there or I can be a chemistry TA at my university and get a letter of rec from him. Which would be better? FYI I have more than enough patient care hours (1000+) and I've never been a TA before. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Very few schools will outright require a clinical LOR dealing with patient care as far as I know. AZ is the only MD school that comes to mind. Some DO schools will require a letter from a DO physician though.

Members don't see this ad :)
This seems a little unnecessary.
Here's the situation:

I worked as a CNA for a year and recently quit because the management was terrible and they all got fired. I was going to get a letter of rec from my boss there but that's not possible now. Now I have two choices: I can go to work another CNA job and get a letter of rec there or I can be a chemistry TA at my university and get a letter of rec from him. Which would be better? FYI I have more than enough patient care hours (1000+) and I've never been a TA before. Thanks!

For the most part, no. A clinical LOR is not required except for DO schools.

Reactions: 1 users
It is a moderate myth that premeds need a clinical letter for medical school. Some premedical committees may require one so the myth reaches that level to. Generally letters from doctors you shadowed briefly are pethaps least useful LORs a premed could get