~is 500,00 in debt worth it? ~

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

toothangel747

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi Everyone,:love:

This is my second time applying to dental schools. I have applied to 10 schools and I am only accepted to one OOS dental school this cycle. Mainly because my DAT score wasn't very high. :scared:

However, I found out that the tuition + living expense + room and board. I am looking at 420,000 for the four years. Plus, I have to get 100% on student loan. With interest rate of 7% By the time i graduated, I am looking at near 500,000 in debt.

Education for dental school is really getting ridiculous. :mad::confused:

At the meantime. I have just applied for dental hygiene program. I am confident that I'd have a high chance of getting in there.

Here is my dilemma::eek: (keep in mind I am turning 27 this year)

Dental school OOS with 500,000 and looking at 20 years working to pay back Is it really worth the time, energy, and money?

dental hygiene which is only two years. For instate residency, I am looking at 60,000 for the total. My boyfriend and my parents are more supportive of me going into hygiene. They think it is less stressful for a female and I am getting too old to still be in school. They told me that I can enter the workforce as a hygienist and later on retake DAT and reapply for the third time, but only instate school.. My boyfriend say i am being selfish to consider dental school....

I am sooo torn and don't know what to do. !! I couldnt sleep last night. I know that becoming a hygienist is more practical. But I know in my heart. I wouldn't want to settle for hygienist. Applying the third time still wouldn't guarantee me getting into my instate school....

If you were to put a price on your dream. how much will it be? For me, I just think 500,000 is too much. 300,000 I could take it.. What would you do if you were me? Hygiene vs. Dental school> ?