IRB approval for this?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Shibbyboi182

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've scanned old threads on this, and am not really sure in my case.

I'm an undergrad putting together an indepedent research project that looks at amphethamine abuse (no presecriptions) on college campuses and categorizes participants based on frequency of use, age, reasons for use, school performance (gpa), etc.

The entire survey would be done online with an anonymous, random (arguably) sampling. Would this require IRB approval? My advisor is unsure. Her background is heavily statistics-based, which is why I came to him as my advisor. Also, would IRB approval vary significantly from institution to institution? (Namely, would the answer to my first question vary based on which school I was at?) Lastly, if it is case that my project would require IRB approval, how exactly does one go about obtaining it? Is it a pain?

***Sorry if anyone feels I'm paying the troll toll. My research experience has been purely low-level clinical.

Members don't see this ad.

I'm an undergrad putting together an indepedent research project that looks at amphethamine abuse (no presecriptions) on college campuses and categorizes participants based on frequency of use, age, reasons for use, school performance (gpa), etc.

The entire survey would be done online with an anonymous, random (arguably) sampling. Would this require IRB approval? My advisor is unsure. Her background is heavily statistics-based, which is why I came to him as my advisor. Also, would IRB approval vary significantly from institution to institution? (Namely, would the answer to my first question vary based on which school I was at?) Lastly, if it is case that my project would require IRB approval, how exactly does one go about obtaining it? Is it a pain?