involuntary commitment

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

karl71

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all - I'm a 4th year student debating whether to go into Psych or not. One of the things that I did not enjoy during my psych rotations was all the involuntary commitments. I live in a state/county where involuntary commitments are very easy to obtain and very common. On my last inpatient rotation, at least 75% of our census was involuntary. I know that this is something only to be used for people that are dangerous to themselves or others, and I agree it is often necessary to do this. But it does not change the fact that I felt uncomfortable with the process at times. Having to keep patients in a locked down unit without being able to see the light of day, breath fresh air, forced to eat crappy hospital food, and having to be around some of the other violent patients is not pleasant. I felt bad for the pts who were doing better, but just didn't have a bed open for them yet and had to endure more days and weeks more in this environment.

I also felt frustrated having to constantly bicker with pt's who were not full treated or stabilized but would ask every day, many times a day, "when am I being discharged"?

The pts that really were super ill, and the ones that were there voluntarily were awesome, and I loved working with them. Unfortunately this was the minority of pts.

Just wondering what some of you that have been in this field for a long time think. Do you ever kind of get to a point where you see the long-term picture and are able to sluff this kind of frustration off? Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

Involuntary committments are often a big part of residency, and sometimes part of working in a community mental health center. Most patients in state psych hospitals are committed.

It is a small part of private practice psychiatry.