Investing Loan Money

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Doc AdamK in 2006

Now 2 year UB Med Doc
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Does anyone take extra money from low APR loans and invest the money in something that will make you more money? If so, what?
Is it safe?

AK

Members don't see this ad.

When I was an undergrad, the state of Alaska subsidized all interest on Alaska Student Loans. For a couple years, I took out the highest amount allowable ($8,000 per year) even though I had enough money to pay my own school fees and worked to pay for other living expenses. I then invested $8,000 of my own money each year. I kept my investments in place during graduate school and then two and half years in the Peace Corps (as the interest was subsidized by the state for Peace Corps as well) -- for almost ten years I had use of this extra money for free.

It might not have been the most ethical thing to do as I didn't need the loans to go to school. But it sure worked out well for me and the state was offering the service, no questions asked. I did risk losing money but it was tough to lose investing in the stock market during the 1990's.

I still have yet to repay those loans totally. I'm in loan repayment but with the decent interest rate offered and now that interest on student loans is deductible, I continue to carry the loans along paying the minimum rate. Once I start medical school this fall, they will once again go back into deferred/subsidized status. I think it makes more sense to do this then to payoff the loans with money I have now and then need to borrow for medical school.