Introduction/ Questions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

FutureOTMax

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey All! My name is Max, I’m a sophomore biology student at Rowan U on a pre-vet track....Currently, I have an atrocious 2.5 GPA, but this semester I am on track to earn the first 4.0 semester of my college career! (Turns out I do pretty well when I wear my hearing aids in class LOL).... I am scheduled to take the GRE in Spring 2021 and apply to schools that fall. In the mean time, I have no plan to slow down on earning perfect grades... My questions to you guys are has anyone had a similar experience and still kept hope for vet school? And do vet schools really look at the curve your grades take? I’m worried my first year of school killed any chance of me getting accepted. Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

It’s possible. I never had a 2.5, but I had below a 3.0 until my second semester sophomore year. You’re going to want to put as much distance between your bad grades and your good ones as possible. Also look at how many pre-reqs you’ve already taken and now you did in them. If they’re B’s, it’s not worth retaking them. If it’s only one or two C’s/C+’s, it’s probably not worth retaking them. But if it’s bio 1/2, chem 1/2, and anything else for example, you may want to retake them. Your cumulative GPA will not do you any favors by the time you apply in your senior year if you go that route. Even if you get a 4.0 every single semester (so this one and the next two) until you apply, that still only puts you at a 3.25 if every semester has the same number of credits.