Intl stdnt: Med School; Neuro Residency // A fairy tale?!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Arkady

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
.PLEASE READ.​
.A little bit of history:

Hi, I am an international student who shares a very keen interest in neuroscience and who would love to become a neurosurgeon one day. As you would've guessed every fairy tale has a villain and here's mine;-.

I come from a medical background, my father is pediatric surgeon, and my mother is a pediatric doctor. I went to college late aged 19 at Amhert College but then transferred in my sophomore year to "X"; École Polytechnique , France.

---------------------------
Dilemma:

I would really love to attend Med school in the U.S, but as an international student who will not graduate from a U.S college I realize that my chances are virtually NULL. Academically, however, I fit the bill:

L' École Polytechnique is by far the most prestigious institution of higher education in France, and has hands down the best engineering school in Europe and arguably in the world. I'm in my 1st graduate year, 3rd at "X"; I am undertaking a double major in Physics & Neuroscience (all "X" have to double), I speak 7 languages and shall graduate in my 4th next year with a Masters degree in Artificial Intelligence and Robotics.

---------------------------
Q&A:

I would like to inquire about my chances of making it into a prestigious Med school in the U.S.

Whether my chances would've been augmented if I had completed my undergraduate study in the U.S at Amhert College instead of abroad; my sister intends to follow the same track so it's a question of finding the safest route for the future.

Whether applying to an International Medical School is a viable alternative. And if attending Med school or an international school gives me a better shot at landing a Neurosurgical-Residency in the U.S of A.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: