Interviews taken away

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

100YardDash

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
My school lost their LCME accreditation this past Monday oct.3rd... I'm a current 4th year student. I had interviews at several places including UT Southwestern and Ut San Antonio and as of yesterday they have all been revoked. It's been pretty devastating! I'm 32 and it's been a long road to get where Im at and to be so close and to have this happen has been just crazy. As crazy as it sounds, I still back my school and still proud of the education I received. The AAMC hasn't said much in terms of what our options are but I'm sure I'm out for the year... My step 2CS date was canceled by the Usmle so even if things changed by the end of the month and with a miracle we took back the accreditation, I wouldn't be able to reregister for the test in time due to the test dates being so backed up.
AAMC is telling us that they will try and help us 4th years to transfer but I don't see that happening. I received an email from the AAMC yesterday stating that I can't do a residency in the US or puerto Rico... So 4 years and 100k down the drain. It is what it is but man, if these type of things keep up I'm going to die of heart disease too young. Any advice. Appreciate it

Members don't see this ad.

Never heard of this before at a Med school level. Some med schools take 3rd yr transfers. I'd email/contact every single LCME accredited medical school and find out if you can transfer as a 3rd or 4th yr.

Wow, that really blows! What happens to all the students there M1 - 4? SOL?

Members don't see this ad :)
W
T
F

You're gonna be taken care of I would guess.

I don't know what to say.

Good luck to you in the future.

Wow, that really blows! What happens to all the students there M1 - 4? SOL?