Internship/Residency

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Daja

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello!

I am a student in my final practical year in Germany. I have taken USMLE Step 1 (only a score of 193) and will take Step 2 with my German final exam.
I am married to an American, have a little baby, and we plan to move for my internship/residency to NY state.
I would like to specialize in Anesthesiology but I have NO idea what the practice is like over there.
I have only done one observership in obstetrics at U Miami hospital and only know the working times and remaining life quality I saw there are not what I want, even for 4 years.

So I start my inquiries here and would greatly appreciate if anyone could tell me something about:
-general time commitment/working hours
-is it possible to do half-day / half-time residencies
-can a residency be interrupted
-since I will probably end up in a smaller local hospital: quality of education there

Thank you very much,

Julia

Members don't see this ad.

Hello!

I am a student in my final practical year in Germany. I have taken USMLE Step 1 (only a score of 193) and will take Step 2 with my German final exam.
I am married to an American, have a little baby, and we plan to move for my internship/residency to NY state.
I would like to specialize in Anesthesiology but I have NO idea what the practice is like over there.
I have only done one observership in obstetrics at U Miami hospital and only know the working times and remaining life quality I saw there are not what I want, even for 4 years.

So I start my inquiries here and would greatly appreciate if anyone could tell me something about:
-general time commitment/working hours
-is it possible to do half-day / half-time residencies
-can a residency be interrupted
-since I will probably end up in a smaller local hospital: quality of education there

Thank you very much,

Julia