Internship/Residency (VIRMP) for foreign vet graduates

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Whatisthemeaningoflife?

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone, I am in my final year of vet school from Southeast Asia. I want to pursue an internship and eventually residency in U.S.A/Canada. This has been my dream. But there isn't much information about foreign graduates matching. I still have a year to finish my vet school. Meanwhile, I want to improve my CV and experience cause right now my CV is empty. However, I am clueless about what to do to improve my chances of being matched and I want to do meaningful things that program directors view as vital. Any tips on how to improve my chances of me getting matched? I want to do internal medicine internship and residency. I do not have US visa. Maybe I would have to apply for J1. I would love to hear anecdote of matched people. I have a lot of queries and if someone can answer them, it would mean a world to me. It really motivates me. I am planning to take Navle in the December window.
Thank you for taking time to read this. Hope you have a great life.

Members don't see this ad.