International student- Residency

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

medicinewithoutbarriers

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,
I am a first year pod student and also international. I have been worried about being able to get into a good residency program at the end.
During my interview, I made sure to ask about their residency success rates and I was assured that there would be no problem. I just had to be on top of it and start searching earlier than my class mates. Do you know of any international student that graduated on time, and started a good residency program immediately?

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Hi,
I am a first year pod student and also international. I have been worried about being able to get into a good residency program at the end.
During my interview, I made sure to ask about their residency success rates and I was assured that there would be no problem. I just had to be on top of it and start searching earlier than my class mates. Do you know of any international student that graduated on time, and started a good residency program immediately?

A good friend went through this. He is a citizen in the US now. He did three years of residency.

Check on a couple of things. One, if there is something called "Optional Practical Training" which allowed him to stay for an additional year of training after his student visa expired. If you can do this, do it before you go through the below process.

You have two other options. First is a J-1 visa, which will allow you to stay for training, but requires you to leave the US after your training is done. The other is an H1-B1 visa, which is a non-immigrant visa. You will need to talk to an immigration attorney. I can ask my buddy who he used, but this was 20 years ago. If you need that info, send me a PM.

Members don't see this ad :)
You were lied to. Good luck, hopefully you don’t need it…