International Student - Chances and Advice Please!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

medhopeful07

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I'm a Canadian student who has graduated with a 3.55 cGPA from a Canadian uni. I'm interested in applying to med schools in the US, but I'm worried about my chances, especially with such a low cGPA. MY Science GPA is around an 82 and would love to know if that is low and whether I should retake some courses to improve it. I think that my research and clinic setting volunteer experience is pretty competitive but I still haven't taken the MCAT and hope to get a good score on it to make up for my GPA.

I was also considering doing a MPH in the hopes of improving my chances. I would love to hear some feedback about international applicants my chances at schools like Icahn School of Medicine or Georgetown.

Thank you!!

Members don't see this ad.

Why those specific schools? With that GPA and a science GPA lower than that (isn't an 82 approximately 3.2-3.3?), my gut says you really don't have a chance at those schools, especially as a non-citizen. Now it is really hard to give you more answers without an MCAT, so that is just a preliminary thought based on average GPAs at those schools.

Also, MPH won't do anything to improve your chances, and many adcoms will see right through it as a way to make your application stand out. There's been a discussion recently (couple weeks ago?) about adcoms viewing MPH degrees as application padding (even when the applicant is truly interested in public health, unfortunately).

Give us more details on your app and why those schools specifically (are your parents alumni?) to help give a better answer.