International DO students

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

prettymean

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, I am a Canadian DO student. I am very worried about doing residency in the US. Is there anyone who is a Canadian or international DO students or residents that can shed some light on how an international DO students can get residency in the US?

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

I honestly don't believe you can match into a US program. If I am not mistaken, the Canadian Schools of Osteopathy are similar to British Schools of osteopathy. Essentially they only teach musculoskeletal manipulation. Course schedules that I have seen are very similar to US Chiropractic colleges. I'm not 100% sure, but I'm almost certain.

If you are a Canadian student at a US DO school you should have no problems... process is very similar to that of a Canadian student at a US MD school.

Members don't see this ad :)
moo or anyone that knows the process, can you please elaborate on how a Canadian in a US DO school can get residency?

Thanks

If you're a Canadian in a US program, it would work the same regardless of whether you attend a US MD program, or a US DO program. It's not that big a deal. People do it all the time. The only thing you may want to consider, however, is where you want to practice. There are places in Canada that will not allow full practice rights for osteopathic physicians. This is changing, but it's still something to think about. If you plan to practice in the states, then you should have no worries.

Can someone please tell me EXACTLY how the process works for international DO students to get US residency?

Thanks

What are you so worried about??