This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bbatasari

Reaction score
Hey everyone!

I am a Foreign-trained Dentist relocating to USA in a couple of months. I will be starting a Masters program in Orthodontics from a CODA approved school very soon. I do not have a DDS/DMD from any USA or Canadian Dental school.

Before starting the program, I have a few questions regarding my career options.

1. I understand that there are only a few states that allow international dentists ( without DDS/DMD ) to sit for the state licensing board examination but I am unable to find a list of such states. Could anyone tell me where I could find the list of such states that would allow one to take the state dental licensing board ?
Since I am not in the US, calling each state board is not a feasible option for me

2. After clearing the state licensing board exam, can one practice general dentistry ( such as teeth cleaning, restorations, crowns & bridges, extractions,root canal treatments etc. ) or will they be restricted to their specialty only ?

3. Is such dental licensing exam required even for a candidate with Masters in Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery (4 year program ) from a CODA school ?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

Firstly, wrong forum. Reported to moderator to relocate your post to the proper forum.

Secondly, and answering your questions. There are "lists" around that you can Google very easily, but they are not very accurate, nor reliable.

Thirdly. That being said, I can also answer your second question. Each state has its own regulations, and sometimes are interpreted one way or another. But generally they ask you to have "credentials". As long as you have some, you will find some doors open.