Army Inpatient Psychiatry Billets

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Joob

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently an Army psychiatry resident and am wanting to work as an attending on an inpatient ward after I graduate. I was shocked to find out that a large base like Ft. Bragg does not have an inpatient unit. I know that Leonardwood, Walter Reed, Triple, Hood, Wainwright have inpatient psychiatric wards, does anybody know what other bases have one as well?

Members don't see this ad.

I am currently an Army psychiatry resident and am wanting to work as an attending on an inpatient ward after I graduate. I was shocked to find out that a large base like Ft. Bragg does not have an inpatient unit. I know that Leonardwood, Walter Reed, Triple, Hood, Wainwright have inpatient psychiatric wards, does anybody know what other bases have one as well?

MAMC & SAMMC

I too find it puzzling that Womack doesn't have an inpatient ward, given the number of Soldiers I refer to ours after they're medically stabilized from their OD w/ SI.

FT Bliss does, and El Paso is really not as bad as everyone says...

It WAS that bad 15 years ago, but I understand that since then the post has seen significant change. Has the cross-border violence improved?

I'd wait at least until the new hospital is built...

Members don't see this ad :)
Thanks for the replies. I spoke with some of my attendings regarding Bragg's facilities and nobody could say for certain, so I just called down to Womack and got the number for the inpatient ward from information, so apparently they do have inpatient facilities. I suppose I should check up on some of the stuff I hear more often.

It WAS that bad 15 years ago, but I understand that since then the post has seen significant change. Has the cross-border violence improved?

I'd wait at least until the new hospital is built...