Indiana University

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DO2Be2011

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Currently I have IU ranked #1 on my ROL, but as I ended the interview trail and talked to other applicants, I heard several people mention that IU is a malignant program. I've heard that the residents are overworked and swipe a card marking the end of their shifts, but continue to work afterwards. Anyone know if these rumors are true about IU? Would appreciate any other feedback about the program. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

I'll put it this way- before my interview I would have strongly considered putting them at 1 esp b/c I'm interested in cards, but I got the same sense and the PD seemed kinda stiff. They're still in my top 5 b/c they do have great fellowship placement but I'm hoping to end up elsewhere.

I'm an upper level resident at IU for IM. Did med school here as well. I'm very happy with my choice.

I do not consider our program malignant. It is a myth that we use cards to clock out with. We take the work hours seriously, and IU in general (regardless of specialty) has the residents log daily work hours online, in an effort to identify rotations (system wide) that habitually break the work hour restrictions. I have logged my hours since day 1, and have NEVER worked longer than 30hr at one time nor more than 80 hours in a week. Even in the ICU. Have I seen residents surpass this? Yes, but it is generally due to their inefficiencies rather than a system problem, or their inability to sign out material.

Strengths:
EIP program designation
4 hospital system (VA, county, university, private)
Program reputation, cost of living (#1 most affordable major city per CNN Money)
Fellowship placement
New PD is progressive (old PD went to Cornell)
Excellent 24/7 ancillary staff (I've never placed an IV, foley, NG, etc)
Complete EMR at all systems (notes, orders, etc), incl access from home