Independent contract and tax

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Yellow mellow

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I have been working as an IC for two months now and since taxes are not deducted from my paycheck , I was wondering how much should I leave aside to pay (%) come tax time ? Btw, I'm married if that changes the %. Thanks for any help

Members don't see this ad.

So I have been working as an IC for two months now and since taxes are not deducted from my paycheck , I was wondering how much should I leave aside to pay (%) come tax time ? Btw, I'm married if that changes the %. Thanks for any help

buy a basic book about taxes and use turbotax so you can learn and understand to do your own taxes. Read about sole proprietor vs llc vs s-corp. As independent contractor there are FICA taxes, federal income taxes and then possible state income taxes and then unemployment taxes. Just read up on the different taxes and learn about the filing requirements deadlines based on your status with the IRS. Once you learn about those taxes, you can estimate how much you will have to deduct and then your taxable income along with when the taxes are due. That will give you an estimate in how much you need to save up.

Members don't see this ad :)
Agree. Get turbotax now and do your "taxes" on it with your projected income and deductions this year, it shouldnt take that long. Then you will have nearly the exact amount you owe (depends on the inputs, GIGO). Finding out self employment tax on the other hand is also simple since you'll be maxing that out, so you pay all of that, and then add on the federal/state.

What I've done is make a spreadsheet in excel with years on the tabs, and each sheet goes jan-dec with columns for income, state tax, fed tax, total tax, SEP, bills, left over for investment.