Incoming IM intern watcing Pulm/CC, but I have some circumstances

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Inopinata vita

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone, I am an incoming IM intern that is interested in going into pulm/cc. I initially was an EM applicant that unexpectedly and unfortunately had to SOAP. Given the recent reports and the doom and gloom I was reading about EM during the interview season, maybe it was a blessing in disguise.

But anyways, I happily find myself in an IM program now and wanted to humbly request any guidance on making myself a stellar applicant for a pulm/cc fellowship. I am a USMD who matched into a University program that is more of a community/academic hybrid.

Not to get into specifics too much, but I will not be able to go into fellowship right after residency, so there will be a gap where I will be practicing as an attending before trying to apply into fellowship afterwards.

Any and all advice would be appreciated, thank you in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

Hello everyone, I am an incoming IM intern that is interested in going into pulm/cc. I initially was an EM applicant that unexpectedly and unfortunately had to SOAP. Given the recent reports and the doom and gloom I was reading about EM during the interview season, maybe it was a blessing in disguise.

But anyways, I happily find myself in an IM program now and wanted to humbly request any guidance on making myself a stellar applicant for a pulm/cc fellowship. I am a USMD who matched into a University program that is more of a community/academic hybrid.

Not to get into specifics too much, but I will not be able to go into fellowship right after residency, so there will be a gap where I will be practicing as an attending before trying to apply into fellowship afterwards.

Any and all advice would be appreciated, thank you in advance!