in need of an atheist physician for a panel discussion at Meharry

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Bunjagraham

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, everyone! I am a medical student at Meharry Medical College in Nashville, TN, and I am looking for an atheist physician who would be willing to participate in a panel discussion at Meharry in November. One of my professors emailed me last night to ask for my help in locating someone for this discussion on spirituality in healthcare. I know a lot of doctors in town through various channels, but I don't know if any of them self-identify as atheist. Before I start randomly emailing doctors, I thought I would try posting here. If the panelist is not a physician, that's okay, but a physician or someone in healthcare would be better. I'd prefer any legitimate spokesperson to no one, though.

Thanks for any ideas you might have! :thumbup:

Members don't see this ad.

its going to be fun finding an atheist in the bible belt

I think it's going to be hard finding an atheist that is so atheist that he is willing to defend that point in a panel discussion. Most people who are atheists don't identify themselves as atheists the way religious people identify themselves as religious.

Members don't see this ad :)
might google "atheist physician" and see if you find any news articles or links where someone has been mentioned...

A recent survey revealed that about 20% of self-proclaimed atheists believe in a higher power. Make sure the atheist you speak actually understands what atheism is. I find that some self-described atheists are merely hostile to organized religion.