This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Boov

5+ Year Member
2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Personal Info:
I am currently a 4th year undergrad at UT Austin. I currently have a science GPA of 2.7, and a cumulative GPA of 3.34. I had received 2 Fs, 3 Cs, and 1 D for my basic sciences courses (Physics 1, BIO 1 and 2, CHEM 1 and 2) early on during my 2nd and 3rd year of undergrad and had semester GPAs ranging from 1.6 to 2.6. I had retaken some of the basic science courses and did not improve by much, often going from a D to a C during those two years. However, I had received a 3.9 GPA my Freshman year, and I received all As during my 4th year, and have made As in my Genetics, OCHEM 1 and 2, Physics 2, and BioChem course as well as my other courses. I have not taken the MCAT yet. I have shadowing experiences, medical related volunteering and non-medical related volunteering hours, leadership experiences, and research experiences.

Also, I will be applying for Post-bacc programs to try to offset my low GPA.

My Questions:
1). If i were to apply for medical school without the Post-bacc program, what are my chances for Texas Medical Schools (i am a Texas resident), as well as out of state Medical Schools?
2). Around what score will I need on my MCAT to possibly offset the low academic performance early on?
3). Will completing the Post-bacc program (assuming I do well and receive As), help my chances of gaining acceptance into Medical School within Texas or out of state?
4). Are there any good Post-bacc programs available for someone in my situation?
4). Are there any advices you can give me for what course of action I should take now?

Thank you for all the help!

Members don't see this ad.