In need of advice. I feel like I have lost my groove in 3rd year.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

UrologyHopeful

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a 3rd year med student at a "top 20" school." Thus far I have completed Neurology and Family Med. I am currently on Psych. I have gotten no official feedback as of yet though I have contacted the clerkship directors. The verbal feedback I have gotten after asking for it hasn't been very helpful as it is usually a passive "you're doing fine." I am not able to compare myself to other 3rd years as I have been either by myself on a team or with 4th years. My classmates who have had medice and/or surgery are lightyears ahead of me regarding their knowledge and efficiency with floor work, writing notes, presenting patients, etc. I am good with people, I guess, I was the class's MC for the faculty roast if that helps paint a picture. Unfortunately, I feel like I can't seem to find my groove this year and do not know how to go about finding it.

Any advice on how to find my groove?
Any advice regarding what I should do to save my ass if I get subpar grades in my clerkships, and fall below the AOA line? (our 3rd year clerkship grades are worth 50% of our final GPA).

Thanks.

My stats thus far: Step 1- 266, GPA- 4.0 (thru end of 2nd year, I have no feedback as of yet from 3rd year). Publications- 1 in urology, with a few more projects in the works, a couple of which will hopefully get published before my application goes out. Faculty relationships- I know 1 urology faculty member well enough to ask for a letter at this point. I attend grand rounds when I can to try to "get my face out there" but it hasn't gotten me too far yet.

Members don't see this ad.