In desperate need of study help

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dobsonek

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone, I’m hoping someone here can help me out. I’m currently in my second semester of PT school and I’m struggling big time in my neuroscience course. A lot of my classmates are also struggling, but not quite to my level. I’m kind of at a loss of what to do. To put things in perspective, I failed my first written exam for the course, retook it, and failed the retake. I also failed our first practical (wet lab) exam by 8 points.
The way my professor teaches (blandly reading off of a PowerPoint) makes it very difficult for me to learn and he is not approachable for questions as he is very condescending and I just leave feeling worse. I’ve tried contacting second year students for tutoring but they’re too busy in their schedules to help me out which is understandable. I’ve tried watching YouTube videos and I’ve formed a study group with some of my peers, but we have another exam and practical in 2 weeks and if I don’t pass I’m pretty sure I’m going to fail out of school.
The professor that teaches the “dry lab” portion of our course has said herself that what were learning (physiology at the cellular level, etc) isn’t relevant to clinical practice and she herself has said that the textbook is so dense that even she has trouble reading it.
I’ve tried looking in the textbook to study as well (as most of our test questions seem to come from there rather than what we learn in lecture) but like I already said it’s just so dense and honestly I don’t have the time to dedicate to really sitting down and reading and understanding entire chapters at a time on top of all my other courses.
Does anyone in this group have any study resources or suggestions that helped them?

Members don't see this ad.