In a relationship but still lonely

Madhatter

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Both my boyfriend and I are residents - however my residency is much less time intensive than his. I love him so much, he completes me - I just feel sad because he is always at work and on the rare occasions he's off he has to do research, publish, etc. It feels so incredibly lonely sitting at home waiting for him to come home or call. He tries his best to put me first and make me feel special but I feel too guilty being demanding because he's already stretched so thin. He'll be working intensely for the next 10-15 years at least. Being a fellow doctor I understand how demanding our professions are but still doesn't take away the pain of missing your loved ones - we give so much of ourselves to medicine, I don't think people truly realize that.

There's no way I would leave him or ask him to quit his residency/fellowship. Just sucks being so alone and having so little time together.

Members don't see this ad.

This makes me sad. And makes me have a lot less hope for a future relationship for myself (whether with my current gf or not) if they are not in the field of medicine themselves :(

I wish I cold provide some advice, but I am not even a med student yet. I hope you guys can find time to spend with each other soon.