Improve BSMD Prospects?

Hkhan

Membership Revoked
Removed
5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

So I'm going for BSMD programs and am planning to apply to most if not all of them that are open to me (some are location restricted) and was wondering how I could improve my chances beyond my current plan.

So what I'm planning to do (I'm a sophomore) is:

- Start volunteering at my local hospital as soon as I meet the age requirement (16 - early 2018)

- Start training as an EMT as soon as I meet the age req (also 16, have contacted local fire & rescue dept and they have confirmed I can start at this time with them).

- Hopefully perform some research at a lab at my state's public university his summer (at this point I have only gotten maybes/"contact me when I'm getting my lab #'s set up this winter[ish]").

-I also may volunteer at an Alzheimer's senior center (which my grandmother has).

- I plan to set up my schools HOSA chapter, have joined science Olympiad to compete in anatomy & physio.

[non-medical]
-Am my school's policy debate captain and qualified for states last year (placed fifth).

-Am in my schools marching band (tremendous time sink but am being forced by parents - will be section leader by senior year).

How can I further improve my prospects for BSMD's?

Also, I have two questions:

- how much does my debate help my prospects (because it is non - medical, I can easily qualify for nationals this year [my region is weak] - is this worth the time)?

- is alumni a factor in these extremely competitive programs (my father attended SKMC bsmd)?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Members don't see this ad.

Also, please don't let this devolve into a debate about why bsmd's don't allow for full development of undergrad or am I sure I really want to do medicine (this is something I have and will continue to reflect upon a throughout my hs career).