Navy Importance of Officer Development School (ODS)?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Tabiyou

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Good afternoon Ladies and Gentlemen,

I hope this finds you well. By the Grace of God, I have been accepted into the Navy HPSP. My question to you all is how important is it to attend ODS as a former commissioned officer?

I was reading
NAVMEDMPT&EINST 1520.1D , and Chapter 7-3 states

"ODS is a mandatory orientation program to Navy life. Students with no prior commissioned service in the U.S. Navy or Marine Corps, or did not complete NROTC/US Naval Academy, must attend ODS prior to their first active duty assignment."

The reason I ask is because I graduated from the Naval Academy Preparatory School and Naval Academy, and was honorably discharged as a USMC infantry captain.

Would I be unprofessional If I try to fight going to ODS? Would I be seen as entitled by my peers and chain of command if I don't go? Would this hurt my career? Has anybody else been in a similar position?

5 weeks isn't a long time (in the past ten years I have been a midshipmen and junior officer). I'm not afraid of the challenges or being at the bottom of the totem pole again.

Perhaps I am not seeing the bigger picture?

Thank you in advance for your thoughts, time, and advice. I apologize in advance for formatting issues as I am on my phone.

Edit: format

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
If you can get it waived, you should do so. It is a complete waste of your time. No one will care.

I hope you feel as blessed about HPSP in 10 more years.

Members don't see this ad :)