I'm finding it hard to acquire clinical experiences. Help?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Mednight

5+ Year Member
2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Let me start of by saying that I am taking my prereqs at community college. So far I've taken: Sociology, Psychology, College Algebra, Speech, 2 English courses, and Philosophy. This summer I'll be taking Criminal Justice(diversity requirement), Information Systems, and a health class, and Precalculus. After this summer I'll be transferring, but I don't want to think about that until I start my summer classes.

I am currently experiencing difficulty in finding clinical experience. I try to get straight to the point in my cover letters. I don't sugar coat a thing. I basically say "I'm a premedical student try to gain patient exposure." I proceed to explain what clinical exposure is and blah blah. Some of the jobs I apply to says you need to be CPR certified and I always entail that information when applying to any job that deals with patients even if it's not required.

Before anyone says "just volunteer", I want to add that I've volunteered before(non-clinical), I want to volunteer again, but I have no income and you need money to transport back and forth to your destination. So that being said, I need a job before I can volunteer anywhere or shadow a physician. I've already been accepted to a shadowing program but the hospital is a bit of a far stretch away from home. It's like I have everything in order, but my circumstances prevents me from going out and getting it!

Basically my question is how do I make myself look like a good candidate for a position(clinical) without sounding desperate? Which I am. Should I just get a regular job(non-clinical) then volunteer and shadow? Or am I on the right track? Keep applying for clinical positions?

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 users
CNA, Phlebotomy, Home Health, etc.

Reactions: 3 users