This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kellen914

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
DISCLAIMER: I bolded what I would consider the nuts/bolts of my question, if you feel inclined to add your two cents but dont want to read a long thread haha.

Hello, I am a PGY1 IM intern thinking about IM-CCM. I originally was considering CCM-Pulm, but every time I do any form of outpatient activity, I want back in the hospital. I see people talking about the "need for critical care" in a wide variety of threads, some dating back to 2003. And I commonly see the advice of "get pulm for when you burn out"... which Id consider, but I would want to be strictly CCM (7 on 7 off type of gig) for a while right out the gate, which doesnt seem very plausible. So without further adieu...

Question 1. To you CCM only guys, what do you do to avoid burnout? Have any of you prepared a burnout back up (say, outpatient IM or hospitalist) or are you not concerned with it? What quality/approach do you possess that makes you resistant to burn out in this field?

Question 2. How is the job market? Did you actively seek jobs/did they come to you/Did you struggle to find work in an area of your choosing? Are certain regions of the country more amendable to CCM-IM physicians? My fiance plans on specializing, and is also in the Military, so me having the flexibility to find a job in multiple locations would be great.

PS i apologize that my "2" questions were multi-faceted. Thanks guys!

X-D

Members don't see this ad.

I do pediatric critical care and so I won't speak to the job opportunities, but I do know that in pediatric critical care, there are quite a bit of private practice groups that have the 7/7 on/off model.