I'm a MLS and Pre-Med major but...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

holy_cannoli17

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
So, I am majoring in Med Lab Sciences, as well as Pre-Med. However, I am really really concerned about meeting my pre-med reqs while on this pathway. It seems really difficult to fit it since the reqs are barely part of my degree pathway. But, I am certain that I want to do both things. I just worry about the time I have to do so. I am a freshman. Next semester, I would be finishing the social science req and starting the Calc req. I already finished my college writing req. I still need physics with lab, biology with lab, Organic and General Chemistry with Lab, Stats, and biochemistry (I am not sure if human biochemistry can count). If taking an extra year after I graduate to finish reqs is a fair option, I’d be alright with that. I really want to graduate on time and considered summer classes, which is now crossed off.

What should I do? Can I apply to med school after I finished my reqs, even if it's not by the end of junior year? Or is it simply better to do as much reqs as I can the fours years and finish the rest after I graduate? MLS is going to be a job with high demands, so I at least will have a job after graduation. Is this a good idea? I heard it wasn't uncommon to do so.

Thank you all :)

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Of course you can apply after your junior year.

Why do you have to do both? You’re making it harder than it has to be if Medicine is what you want. Summer class prerequisites are generally not recommended since the rigor is sometimes questioned. One is okay, but not most/all.