If I perform average clinically, what will be my options as a mid-tier MSTP grad applying to PSTPs?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ChordaEpiphany

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
As I progress into MS3, I'm realizing that much of my performance is out of my hands. Thus far, I've been an excellent student and researcher. I was a top student at a top undergrad, but attended a mid-tier MSTP program for personal reasons. I obtained an F30. I'll have ~10 manuscripts by the time I apply, with hopefully at least one at a top journal (in review at Nature [My Field] right now). I have a number of other accomplishments like patents, obtaining significant funding for a startup, and working as a consultant for a biotech company that is translating some of my research. I also scored >250 on step 1, but that is no longer relevant I suppose.