ID/CCM

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

FranticFrancis

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I was scanning through SDN and could only find a question to my problem, but no answer. It goes as quoted below:

I am a 1st year IM resident who is very interested in CCM and ID. I have heard of several physicians getting board cert. in ID and CCM. I was wondering what type of work schedule do these docs have ( do they work 1 week in the closed ICU (shift work) and then do ID for 2+ weeks)? As well, I know of several fellowships that offer 1 year CCM fellowships after you complete another medicine fellowship, but is there a list of the programs that offer these 1 year fellowships? Thanks for your help.

The difference is I'm not a resident (yet), just a non-us citizen in my 4th year of a 6-year med graduation in a foreign country having mortal doubts and questionings and being obligated by my too-worried mind to spend most of my time trying to figure out what am I going to do.

Uff, glad I got that out of my chest. Sorry for bringing my personal problems here, but it IS all anonymous, right?

Well, back to ID/CCM, if you don't mind...
I really like the idea of clinical reasoning, of using epidemiology and solving some ass-f***** cases, those adamantium-hard cases (you know what i'm talking about, yes, that atypical presentation of paracoccidioidomicosis or the weird 84 y/o lady with a micobacterium marinum infection, that kind of stuff). And I also enjoy very much taking care of critically ill patients, I like physiology and pharmacology and dealing with electrolyte balance. I like a few procedures as well, like intubation, paracentesis and other stuff CC physicians are expected to do.