IBR/REPAYE next year...file seperately or jointly in this situation?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

adamanteus

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a 4th year med student who will graduate in May with $330,000 in student loans.

My wife is a nurse who's 2015 AGI was 58k. She will be returning to school full time this coming fall for Family NP school. She currently has 55k in school loans from previous degrees. Of which, 35k is private (Sallie Mae) and is currently paying ~600/month total now.

With next years IBR during my intern year in mind, we are looking to file our taxes soon and don't know if we should do this separately or jointly. If we file jointly this year, we will get back $3000 in refunds with my education credits. Filing separately, she will owe $600. I am worried that by filing jointly, we may do some harm for next year when I try to set up the IBR. We won't mind making payments during my intern year, but want to keep them low - say less than $400/month. Also keep in mind our roles next year will essentially be reversed, as I will be working while she will be in school full time and her loans back into forbearance (however she does plan to work PRN here and there to make a little extra dough).

Could anyone shed some light on what we could expect if we do go ahead and file jointly? And in this situation, might REPAYE be a better option than IBR? Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

this may or may not appeal to you but one of the EM organizations just sent me an ad for a compaany that advises on this type of thing "doctors without quarters"

(I have no affiliation or experience with them)