I wish my nurses would...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CrazyPremed

Tearin' it up in the ICU
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey folks,

Long story short - I'm working as a nurse on a cardiac floor while I finish the premed requirements.

For all you residents, fellows and attendings, what do you guys wish we would do to make your jobs easier?

CrazyPremed

Members don't see this ad.

Hey folks,

Long story short - I'm working as a nurse on a cardiac floor while I finish the premed requirements.

For all you residents, fellows and attendings, what do you guys wish we would do to make your jobs easier?

CrazyPremed

Im not a doctor, but I do read these forums.

1. Pages at 3 AM for something important is ok. Pages at 3 AM to wonder if a certain medication is being renewed is not.
2. When a doctor orders something, dont not give it because you disagree. At the very least, you must tell him you didnt do whatever.
3. Stat means now.
4. Dont make up rules about what can and cannot be done.

Don't page overnight for logistical issues if possible. Try to keep your pages confined to medically relevant issues. Sometimes the two overlap, like when PRN medication orders are about to expire. That's why it's called the art AND science of nursing.

Oh.....wait.

Are you hot? haha
Dont say it doesnt happen

meh
umm

Really basic things I guess.. like.. if you want me to insert a catheter.. you COULD get the set out and have everything prepared. If I know someone for example, is a nurse who will do something as small as that, if she rings me for a job.. it automatically goes up the priority list compared to some other non-urgent job.