I need some advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

calimaven

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm new here but I have been visiting this site for a few months now. I need some honest advice (even if it hurts). I am a female mexican-american applicant (URM) and I just recieved my MCAT scores: V=7, P=9, B=10, and WS=R for a score of 26R. My science GPA is a 3.64, I have four years research experience with one year conducted at Yale School of medicine in a post-bac program. I have co-authored in one publication that is in JBC, I am a MARC scholar, and I graduated with departmental honors and numerous awards including outstanding graduate in the department of biology. I have no clinical experience. I am debating whether I should apply to MD/PhD programs because I am not sure about my MCAT score (average MCAT score for mexican-american med school matriculants is 26P). My question is whether you think I have a good chance of getting into an MD/PhD program or an MD program? If I do MD eventually I will try to do research. My other alternative is PhD. Based on the stats what do y'all think. Thanks for the time and sorry for the long post

Members don't see this ad.

calimaven said: