*****I need help with my direction******

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

FutureDoctor07

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi I am 22 years old and im about to graduate with my B.S in psychology...I have took most of the pre-med courses because i knew i wanted to go to medical school.....i missing organic chemistry 1 & 2 and i have 3 C's in 3 of my previous science courses that i took for med school......my cumulative gpa graduating should be a 3.0.:( i need help in what to do after i graduate so i can get into medical school...i havent took the MCATs yet im still studying...can someone please help me with some ideas of direction....thank you!!!:thumbup:

Members don't see this ad.

1) Do a (edit:) Post Bacc to improve your GPA
2) Retake those classes and consider DO schools because they do grade replacement.
3) Study well and do great on the MCAT.

Last edited:
1) Do an SMP to improve your GPA
2) Retake those classes and consider DO schools because they do grade replacement.

+1
4) Volunteer at a hospital, and/or shadow some physicians. Start building EC's.

Members don't see this ad :)
With a 3.0, you'll have to invest in some damage control. If you consider DO schools, they have a grade replacement policy that will allow you to retake any bad grades and up that GPA real quick. Allopathic schools don't have a grade replacement policy. Any new grades received, as a result of a retake, simply get averaged in with any of your old grades. For this reason, damage control in the case of allopathic schools is a longer process, and more expensive. But it can be done by taking post-bacc classes in upper level science courses and getting A's, to prove you can handle science intensive courses.

You don't seem to have many EC's. You'll need clinical volunteering, non-clinical volunteering, shadowing, leadership, and perhaps some research to be competitive.