This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

future.NC.doc

Reaction score
Hello all,

I have a question on the path I am having to take to get to medical school.

I am an adult student and had to start college at 24 instead of 18 years old. I started my collegiate career at a community college in my home state. I received mostly A’s and B’s but I did not finish with my transfer degree aka Associates in Arts Degree. I transferred to a highly ranked private university I got a full ride to. I am finishing my bachelor’s Degree in Business Administration with a concentration in Management as well as a Bachelor’s Degree in Information Technology.

I did not pursue the Pre-Medical track or the Biology track due to me wanting to have a back up plan in case medical school does not work out. As a result of me not taking the pre-medical or biology track. I am unable to take the prerequisites for most medical schools. The college that I attend now is a small university and the way the degrees are set up is that there is not a way to take extra classes outside of my two majors. I am now having to take my medical prerequisites at my old community college.

Mostly due to the cost being $76.00 versus $1,500 a credit hour at my university. I will be taking General BIO 1&2, Organic Chem 1&2, CHEM 1&2, GEN PHY 1&2, I am also going to take biochemistry, genetics, microbiology, as well as A&P 1 and 2. At my old community college. I am currently taking 18 credit hours at my university and I am going to take 3-4 courses at Gaston College starting in the Spring Semester until I graduate in 2 years. I will also be taking summer courses at my old community college during the summer too.