I need advice for DAT & pre-req. time-frame

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

tywebb

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Greetings! I plan on attending dental school in the fall of 2006. The problem is that I have to take many pre.-req's and the DAT. I would like to attend the University of Florida in 2006. The school's website says that students should apply in the summer one year before the fall thay plan on enrolling.

So I have have 2 years to finish my pre-req's. That is plenty of time. However, I want to do well on the DAT and the university recommends taking it the spring before the summer I apply.

I have a poli sci degree and I have not taken any chemistry courses in college. If I take chemistry one semester at a time that means I will not have taken any organic chemestry if I take the DAT in spring.

-Is it nesessary to take organic chemistry in order to do well on the DAT? (probably a stupid question)

-is it possible to take gen. chem 1 & 2 at the same time?

I really need some help from you so I can formulate a realistic plan to take to do well on the DAT, take couses that are nessesary for the DAT, and apply to the UoF next summer so I can enroll for the fall of 2006.

Thank you! Please help!

Members don't see this ad.

yes you should definitely try to take at least one full semester of orgo before taking the test. organic chemistry is a whole different can of worms compared to basic inorganic chem.
and IMHO it's not a good idea to take chem I and II together, especially if you have no previous background in the subject matter. have you considered doing intensive summer study? if time is such an issue, you can take summer courses.
hope that helps :)