I need a second opinion on what I have to do!!!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

superfresh905

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

So currently I am working in a lab that I just started 3 months ago. It's a work study position where I do basic lab work for the researchers and then the basic "bitch" work that undergrads do, such as restocking, throwing trash, etc. I joined the lab because I honestly wanted to gain more experience in laboratory techniques. I've been working for 3 months now and I've learned A LOT and more than I expected, but a part of me feels as though that I'm not really benefiting from it because it has nothing to what I want to do in the future, which is medical school. Aside from this I don't do research in the lab, I'm in charge of the maintenance I guess. But I am in another lab that I DON'T get paid in, but am doing my own research.

The one thing about the lab that I am in that I get paid for while doing not so fun stuff, is I am guaranteed a full-time position after I graduate and the people I work with are great. Honestly, that is the only reason I've stayed, otherwise, I have no interest.

On the other hand, I just interviewed for a clinical research position at a major institute. I've done clinical research before and I've found that it's more up my alley because I get to talk to patients, which is essentially almost like what I want to do in the future. But the thing is, I'm not guaranteed that full-time position in the future. It's a maybe.

So my question is, do I leave my current job that I've only been at for 3 months where the people are great, guaranteed full-time position, but crappy work for another position that I find will be more beneficial but isn't guaranteeing me a full-time position. OR do I stay at my current job and see how it goes and hope that when I become full-time I have more of a less bitch work position.