I keep fainting: embarrassed and feeling bad

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mmcoffee

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a first year medical student and I am very happy in school. I find it fun and interesting. But recently, whenever I have days where I go into the hospital to speak with patients, I get dizzy and sick. This happens when I see regular drainage tubes in patients in the ICU, doing observerships in the OR... I am ok when I watch youtube videos, but there's something about seeing it in person.

This is something I know I want to do, but I feel like my body won't let me. I'm afraid to talk to someone because my classmates are judgemental.

I know some people faint in the OR and I suppose that makes sense, but I feel like mine is a lot worse. Has anyone had it like this? Is there anything I can do to help alleviate the response?

Members don't see this ad.

I worked through a similar issue earlier in the earlier parts of surgical rotations. I had to psych myself out of being psyched out...

I'd get light headed as well and would start to feel dizzy, but after a while I started talking myself out of the episodes.

I think you can get over this OP, with time and effort.

Rest assured, even seasoned residents (like a senior Ob/gyn resident I worked under) would faint occasionally. It happens to more people than you think, but you can't let it become your achilles.

Keep in mind that none of us were born to look at blood, pus, gore, etc. Its probably normal that you have this reaction to these types of unnatural exposures.

Reactions: 5 users
Members don't see this ad :)