I have a puppy in dental school -- AMA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

nontradsingerperson

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi!

I wish I had a forum where I could have asked someone with a pet in dental school questions before deciding to get a dog myself. I am a first year dental student at Penn Dental Medicine, and I have a 6 month old puppy. Ask me anything about having a pet in dental school (can also ask about cats, although they aren't my forte lol)

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 users
I want to get a puppy SO BAD when I go to dental school (hopefully next fall if I get accepted soon). How manageable do you think it is? ESP with first year?

I want to get a puppy SO BAD when I go to dental school (hopefully next fall if I get accepted soon). How manageable do you think it is? ESP with first year?
Hi! You should totally consider it -- having a dog in dental school has made my life SO MUCH BETTER, but I'd be lying if I said it wasn't challenging.

It is manageable IF:
1. You crate train your dog immediately as a puppy. You cannot manage it whatsoever without crate training first -- pup will have to hang out in the crate so as to not destroy your apartment and have accidents all over.
2. You have A BARE MINIMUM of 1 full month of dedicated training (including crate training) prior to starting school -- I had one full month to do so and just barely made it to the "finish line" (in terms of having her prepared enough for the challenges of being in dental school with me) in time.
3. You live VERY close to the school, and/or have the funds to hire a dog walker during the day.