I hate doing this...but what are my chances of admission?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

santa_claus

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I know this has been discussed before, but I got mixed opinions after searching this forum. What are my chances of getting into Flinders, USyd or UQ with the following stats?

MCAT: 11/9/11N

GPA: 3.51/4.

I graduated from UofT last year. I applied to some American schools and I will apply to a few Canadian med schools, even though I know my chances of getting in are slim. For that reason, I also applied to the three Aussie schools mentioned above. I submit my application in the beginning of Aug.

I will appreciate any comments. I am a bit frustrated, because I really want to study medicine, but the doors to so many good schools are already shut for me.

Members don't see this ad.

Hi,

With a 3.51/31N, you are right in the middle of the pack for entering students in the US and probably good enough for MAC and a couple of other schools provided you have at least 2 years above a certain average (thinking of UWO, Queen's, Calgary). Why even consider foreign schools (unless you want the experience, which is a perfectly valid reason)? The risks are high, especially with residency choices and it is a serious issue in Canada when you go elsewhere. Ontario schools are notoriously difficult but why not the US, your stats are decent enough. As a US graduate, you can match in the first iteration of Carms which makes you on par with Canadian students. If you feel like you will have no problems not being able to practice in Canada (not right away), be limited in residency choices, and have to deal with multiple exams, then perhaps the experience may very well be worth it. In the meantime, check out websites for US and Canadian schools with average scores similar to yours.

Best of Luck :).

santa_claus said: