I had to take a PIC position. I hate it.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Singlemom Rph

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've been a staff pharmacist for about 5 years. Before that I was a pharmacy manager, but I stepped down to spend more time with my kids and because it just wasn't worth it. My company keeps cutting operating hours, and I was going to lose my benefits. My boss called me up out of the blue to offer me a pharmacy manager position. I felt like I had to take it. Today was my first day, and I already hate it. The pharmacy is a mess, the tech hours have been cut, and I only got a 2% raise to deal with all this.

The gate is see through at the store I'm in, and when I was staying late to finish up some things, customers kept calling to me through the gate. I feel like I had to take the job because I need the stability, but I'm dreading going back tomorrow. Anyone in a similar position? Any creative ideas on how to manage the see through gate?

Members don't see this ad.

I've been a staff pharmacist for about 5 years. Before that I was a pharmacy manager, but I stepped down to spend more time with my kids and because it just wasn't worth it. My company keeps cutting operating hours, and I was going to lose my benefits. My boss called me up out of the blue to offer me a pharmacy manager position. I felt like I had to take it. Today was my first day, and I already hate it. The pharmacy is a mess, the tech hours have been cut, and I only got a 2% raise to deal with all this.

The gate is see through at the store I'm in, and when I was staying late to finish up some things, customers kept calling to me through the gate. I feel like I had to take the job because I need the stability, but I'm dreading going back tomorrow. Anyone in a similar position? Any creative ideas on how to manage the see through gate?