I found my calling!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

priu

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Good afternoon,

I am an undergraduate in the medical school application process, and would greatly appreciate feedback to some of my concerns.

Based on what I've read so far about the field, I feel that PM&R is my calling... I want to pick a medical school that would give me the highest chances for progression into this field (and with all honesty I would face any hurdle to be a part of it).

I'm applying to both D.O. and M.D. schools, and I see some parallels between the PM&R and Osteopathy. However, I've read that D.O.'s have trouble entering some medical specialities. I'm not trying to make this a DO vs MD debate, I just want to learn more about such concerns (I feel that I would choose to go to a DO school over acceptance to an MD school). Is it safe to assume that physiatry is not of one of those medical specialities not restricted to M.D.'s only?

What D.O. schools are associated with physiatry? I want the best education possible I can get for physiatry. Based on my stats, I am not too competitive with out of state M.D. programs.

I would like to become involved in PM&R research and become more familiar with the field, but do not know where to start. If possible, I would greatly appreciate any information on PM&R research or shadowing opportunities, or perhaps some direction in which I could go in order to find out. I graduate this December and would like to take advantage of any opportunity I can in the spring and summer preceding medical school (hopefully if everything works out!).

Thank you for any information! If I had known about PM&R earlier, I would have done this sooner.

Members don't see this ad.

That's awesome that you found your calling.

I went into medicine wanting to do ER based on EMT experiences.
Then I knew I wanted to become a surgeon based on anatomy.
Then I wanted to....