I don't think I have a great chance of reaching my dreams at a US Medical school. Should I be moving to Mexico where I've already been accepted? HELP

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Jole89

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I hope everyone is staying healthy. This is the first time I'm putting my issues into words and "talking" about them so please stay with me as you continue reading.

Here it is. I am a scared 25 year old questioning my entire life . Born and raised (kinda) in Mexico, moved to the US at 12. I graduated with a B.S in Bio Sci from a California university 2018 and I've gone through one med school application cycle with not even one interview invitation. I graduated with a 3.5 science GPA and had a mediocre MCAT 505 (took it 3 times- 498->502->505) I shadowed and started my clinical experience since I was in high school and all throughout undergrad. Had my personal statement revised by 5 different people, got MDs, DOs and various professors to write me letters of rec and I thought all this would make up for my average stats. It goes without saying that I was extremely disappointed by the lack of interview invitations. After a good half a year wallowing at my parents' house I started working as an MA for an ortho surgeon, without a real plan as to what I would be doing next. five months ago I was talking to a doctor uncle who lives in Mexico and he put in my head the idea of "why keep waiting- wasting money and time to apply again. You should move back home and study out there." SO I looked into some programs in Mexico city and found a few with some potential. I went out, saw the campuses, asked about their programs and well why not took some admission exams and interviewed at 3 schools. ( btw in Mexico each school has its own admission exam so you can pretty much take them at any time- they cover similiar content as the MCAT but its definitely not