I don’t qualify to be an officer?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted1074310

So I have yet to reach out to the Air Force (which I’m told is even more selective) or army officer recruiters. But I was speaking with a navy recruiter today about the FAP who told me I wouldn’t qualify to join the navy as an officer because of my poor undergraduate GPA (I graduated in 2013 and have since completed a masters program in which I did very well) and arrest record (arrested in 2011 and charged with multiple felonies for making false identifications for myself and my friends which was ultimately dismissed and expunged).

Does my undergrad GPA really hold that much weight considering I’m currently a 4th year medical student? The guy then went on to tell me I could “enlist” and then try to become an officer through that route which is obviously not an option on my end. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

So I have yet to reach out to the Air Force (which I’m told is even more selective) or army officer recruiters. But I was speaking with a navy recruiter today about the FAP who told me I wouldn’t qualify to join the navy as an officer because of my poor undergraduate GPA (I graduated in 2013 and have since completed a masters program in which I did very well) and arrest record (arrested in 2011 and charged with multiple felonies for making false identifications for myself and my friends which was ultimately dismissed and expunged).

Does my undergrad GPA really hold that much weight considering I’m currently a 4th year medical student? The guy then went on to tell me I could “enlist” and then try to become an officer through that route which is obviously not an option on my end. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.