I am looking into the PA profession and wanted to see if I have a chance

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CogNeuroGuy

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Here is my background:

First year of college at New England Conservatory of Music: GPA = 1.978
A.A. in Liberal Arts (Collin College): GPA = 3.12
B.A. in Sociology/Psychology (University of North Texas): Overall GPA = 3.22, last 2 years GPA = 3.77
M.S. in Applied Cognition and Neuroscience (The University of Texas at Dallas): GPA = 3.77

I have one publication as second author in the Archives of Clinical Neuropsychology (journal of the National Academy of Neuropsycology).

I have 4 posters as second author at National Academy of Neuropsychology and International Neuropsychological Society with one of them having the Best Student Poster Award.

I studied at UT Southwestern as a Graduate Research Assistant working in departments of neurology as well as neuropsychology.

I have 15 years of training as a classical musician, playing with Boston Ballet, Lyric Opera orchestra and many many others.

I have been looking at PA programs that will waive the GRE with my prior master's degree, I am also in the process of either working as a scribe or shadowing in the near future. I will still need to go back to complete the pre-req classes for the PA program. I was considering doing this at a community college since A. I will probably need to find a job, B. I simply don't have the money to pay for university-level courses out of pocket. I have paid for all of my education via loans, and I currently stand at $92K worth of loans between all of my degrees.

Given this information, do you see me having a strong chance of getting into a PA program? Are there issues you might see that are severely limiting?

Members don't see this ad.

Hi there,