I am a URM better than acceptable Stats and still nothing ?????

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MarylandDude

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello guys,

This is my first time posting on SDN, but I have been an avid lurker for a while.

My Reason for posting today: I don't understand what is going on with my applications. I am an African-American male, my advisor says I should be a sure bet for numerous acceptances. These are my stats:

School: Had to edit this out for privacy.
Double major: Gen bio and a liberal art.
G.P.A: 3.7
MCAT: 30 T PS 11 V 7 BS 12

I know these stats aren't great, but they are well above the MSAR averages for minorities.

Some Extracurricula activties:
I am certainly not lacking in this area.

*I have been president of 3 different organization/clubs with more than 70 members.
*Over 500hrs of volunteering and shadowing over a two year period.
* Studied abroad
* Two years of Cancer research with a publication.
* I have worked in a non-profit company which specialized in helping underserved communities.
* I am a surveying technician and working on my surveyor license.
* A lot of little awards
* A lot of little activities to give back to the community.
* A lot of other leadership roles and jobs.

and for those of you who are wondering, NO I don't have a criminal record or anything close. Not even a parking ticket.

I applied to about 15-17 schools and No acceptances yet. I was confident about my chances at the start but now I'm starting to think that something is wrong with my app. Please help. :(

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
how many interviews do you have?

I'm not saying that you are, but don't ever think that you can be a shoe in to medical school; the process is too variable for that. Your application does look quite good though.....